“I remember when I first got the job, it felt like I could actually call myself an artist – whereas before I was unsure. Six years down the line I  feel established as an artist, and it is largely due to the fact that Ignite gave me an opportunity..."  Current freelance artist

Artist Work Opportunities

Quick overview

Everyday Stories

Type: Creative writing, visual

Multiple venues

Click here

Artist Callouts
Project Name: Everyday Stories, Multiple venues

Type of artists that can apply (creative writing/visual/dance)

Creative writing, visual

Venue Highfield Library, S2 4NF

Dates and times of project/event: All sessions timings will be 13:30-15:30

Session dates:

  • Saturday 9th July

  • Saturday 16th July

  • Saturday 23rd July

  • Saturday 30th July

  • Saturday 6th August

  • Saturday 13th August

  • Saturday 20th August

  • Saturday 27th August

Venue Parson Cross Library, S5 8NL

Dates and times of project/event: 

Pre-summer holidays

  • Tuesday 5th July: 3:45-4:45pm

  • Tuesday 12th July: 3:45-4:45pm

  • Tuesday 19th July: 3:45-4:45pm

In summer holidays

  • Tuesday 26th July: 2-4pm

  • Tuesday 2nd August: 2-4pm

  • Tuesday 9th August: 2-4pm

  • Tuesday 16th August: 2-4pm

  • Tuesday 23rd August: 2-4pm

  • Tuesday 30th August: 2-4pm

Partners: Children in Need

Artist Fee: £86 per session (we welcome artists applying for multiple sessions)

Materials budget: £40 per session

Target Audience and number if known: 8-13 years olds, 15 children per. session.

Project DESCRIPTION: We would like artists to submit proposals for creative activities that will facilitate participants to explore the theme "What Makes Me, Me?” This project aims to encourage consideration and celebration of one's background, family, friends and aspirations. Participants will return week on week and collate their work from sessions into art journals that follow this theme.

Proposed activities should focus on using materials/tools not readily available to participants in school or the home. 

As part of the project, participants will create/ send postcards about their experiences to other libraries taking part.

Children regularly attending will be offered certificates; encouraging newcomers to get more involved. 

Sessions will culminate in a final exhibition where participants’ work will be displayed and celebrated with family members. They will be involved in the development and delivery of this event, therefore aiming to increase their confidence in their creative skills.

We welcome proposals with ideas for multiple sessions and/or one off sessions.